Young Stars of Maine Prize Program

Annabel Parker, soprano

For 60 years, Bay Chamber Concerts has awarded prizes to recognize, encourage, and reward young Maine music students who are serious in their study and performance of music. Prize awards are between $500 and $1,000, in eight categories, for individuals and ensembles ages 12-25.

For the 2020 program live auditions and a concert performance were not possible due to the Covid-19 pandemic. Alternatively, candidates for the prizes were evaluated based on video recordings. The following is the list of the 2020 Young Stars of Maine Prizewinners. 

The Eleanor Erdman and Diane Nixon Vocal Prize – Kayleigh Tolley, soprano
The A. H. Chatfield, Jr. Piano Prize – Inga Zimba
The Jean and Harvey Picker Senior Prize – Annabel Parker, mezzo-soprano
The Elsie Bixler Junior Prize – Anya Mazaris-Atkinson, flute
Ann and Ezra Rachlin Prize for Musical Excellence – Joshua Rosenthal, violin
Summer Strings Prize – Aiden Montmeny, violin
The Nathan E. Corning Jazz Prize – Pablo daCosta, saxophone

We will be featuring videos of the prizewinners on our YouTube channel from June 22-24 as part of our Notes@Noon program. And we hope to be able to present the Young Stars of Maine live concert performance in December, 2020. Please watch for our email newsletter for updates on our plans.

Download Forms
The Bay Chamber Approach
  • Thoughtful Student Placement
  • Performance Opportunities
  • Access to Live Performance
  • Professional Musicians/Educators
  • Financial Aid/Scholarships
  • Individualized Goal Setting and Evaluations