Calendar / Event

Young Stars of Maine Prizewinners Concert 2017

Sunday, Apr 30, 2017, 4:00pm

Rockport Opera House, Rockport


For more than 50 years, Bay Chamber Concerts and Music School has had an annual prize program to recognize, encourage, and reward young Maine music students who are serious in their study and performance of music. Prize awards are $1,000, in seven categories, for individuals and ensembles ages 11-25.

We are proud to announce the 2017 Young Stars of Maine Prizewinners in the following categories:

The Ezra Rachlin Prize for Excellence: Christopher Garrepy, countertenor

The Eleanor Erdman and Diane Nixon Vocal Excellence Prize: Rachel Shukan, soprano

The A. H. Chatfield, Jr. Piano Prize: Soren Nyhus, piano

The Summer Strings Prize: Colin Aponte, violin

The Elsie Bixler Junior Prize: Morgan Flanigan, piano

The Jean and Harvey Picker Senior Prize:  Kiersten Curtis, soprano

The Young Stars of Maine Prize Winners Concert will take place on Sunday, April 30, 2017 4PM at the Rockport Opera House. Please come celebrate these young talented musicians in this free performance sure to please all audiences.

Honorary Concert Sponsor